Nagpur University

The Nagpur University was established on 4th August, 1923 with six affiliated colleges and 927

Nagpur University was established on 4th August 1923. Vipin Krishna Bose was the first chancellor of this university. At that time there were only four streams of education available viz., Arts, Science, Home science & combined. There were only six colleges having these streams: 
  1. Nagpur's Hislop college
  2. Morris college
  3. Victoria science college
  4. Spain training college
Four years after Nagpur University’s establishment, famous businessperson Sir Jamshedji Tata had donated Rs. one lakh for the construction of this building. Due to this donation, the main administrative building in front of  Maharaja Bagh was completed. On January 1929, this building was erected. 
                            The main  educational decisions made at that time were  (1) Encouragement to Indian languages such Sanskrit, Marathi, Pali- prakrut, Hindi, Urdu (2) Guest lectures on different topics were organized.
On 1st May 1983, Nagpur University was divided & new Amravati University was  found. Due to this division, the working area of  Nagpur University was limited to east Nagpur, Wardha, Chandrapur, Gadchiroli & Bhandara. Today also, the Nagpur University is known as the top University  in India.
At the time of University's Silver jubilee celebration year the total number of colleges were 275 thereafter there  were only 37 postgraduate colleges. The counting of  colleges included the  college situated in Jalgaon in district Bhusaval named as Sant Gadgebaba Hindi Mahavidyalaya, which is noteworthy.
Today Nagpur University has ten streams of education . Of all, three colleges are run by Nagpur University though Home Science stream was opened in 1973. The only three colleges having this stream are;

Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Home Science college,
Laxmi Narayan Technical  Institution,
Barrister S. K. Wankhede Educational college

                            Now in Nagpur University there are many courses are offered in the information technology field. BE. in the Computer Science, Computer Technology, Information Technology and Master In Computer Application, and also through Bachelor and Master degree in computer sciences. Nagpur University has taken computer education upto its par by offering good courses in the computer field to the students.